FieldTripBuffer and P3Speller

Forum for discussion on different signal processing algorithms
PeterLiu

FieldTripBuffer and P3Speller

Post by PeterLiu » 20 Oct 2011, 22:03

Hi,

I'm new to BCI2000. I'm currently trying to use FieldTripBuffer (run in matlab) as the Signal Processing module for P3Speller application. I have managed to read the raw signal and states such as StimulusCode in matlab. However, I have trouble find a way to sent the classification result to the application module. Follow the instruction in http://www.bci2000.org/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=25
I tried to set the StimulusCodeRes and StimulusTypeRes to be greater than 0. However, nothing happened. Then I tried the Cursor Task and managed to control the cursor by sending value to the "Signal" state. So I figure it must be some rule in P3Speller application that I don't know. Could anyone explain to me how to set the stimulusCodeRes and StimulusTypeRes state to let the P3Speller work?

Thank you very much.

Yichuan

mellinger

Re: FieldTripBuffer and P3Speller

Post by mellinger » 21 Oct 2011, 13:18

Hi,

the P3Speller and StimulusPresentation modules await classification scores for all stimuli presented during a sequence. You need to set StimulusCodeRes to all values of the StimulusCode state that appeared since the previous classification, and the signal's 0,0 component to the classification score associated with the stimulus code. For information about how classification scores are further processed in the P3Speller and StimulusPresentation modules, see the documentation of the StimulusTask class (http://www.bci2000.org/wiki/index.php/P ... Task_Class).

Regards,
Juergen

PeterLiu

Post by PeterLiu » 14 Nov 2011, 20:26

Dear Juergen,

Thank you for your last reply. I've been trying to make it work from time to time during the last few weeks but still have no luck. Currently, I encountered the following two problems: