P300 Speller, what about the spot?

This forum deals with BCI2000 configuration issues.
flaurent

P300 Speller, what about the spot?

Post by flaurent » 24 Feb 2006, 10:45

Hi,

In a P300 experiment, rows and columns are enlightened at a high rate. Nevertheless on a CRT screen the spot may draw the lower part of a row or column and complete it during the next sweep cycle. If that phenomenon occurs, the subject's cerebral response may be slightly different.

Does the P300 Speller application handle that problem? I guess I can fix it with OffTime and OnTime parameters. Are those values expressed in SampleBlocks? This information is only provided in audvisp3.pdf whereas the given unit in the remaining documentation is "system cycles".

I have no background in low level programming under Windows. Do you know how to access screen settings? Or do you think there is no such problem with an LCD screen and I had rather change?

Thanks in advance for any answer.

François

gschalk

Re: P3Speller

Post by gschalk » 24 Feb 2006, 14:10

François,
In a P300 experiment, rows and columns are enlightened at a high rate. Nevertheless on a CRT screen the spot may draw the lower part of a row or column and complete it during the next sweep cycle. If that phenomenon occurs, the subject's cerebral response may be slightly different.
What I believe you are referring to is the screen refresh on a typical CRT. Ideally, stimulus presentation would be synchronized to the vertical blank (i.e., the return of the electron beam from the bottom to the top). With appropriate techniques, this can be done under Windows so that stimuli are exactly time-locked to each of the frames on the screen.

However, not only are these techniques somewhat involved, but it also seems to be difficult, if not impossible, to realize this capacity without having the processor load go to 100% (which would allow nice stimulus presentation, but would not really permit other concurrent processes).