Signal Processing Parameters / Trend Control

This forum deals with BCI2000 configuration issues.
Chris

Signal Processing Parameters / Trend Control

Post by Chris » 21 Jul 2005, 13:16

Dear BCI2000 - Group !

As I am new to BCI2000-use and -development, please let me introduce myself: My name is Chris Veigl, I am studying informatics and prepare my diploma at Fortec-Institute (Technical Univesity Vienna). My work concentrates on the hard- and software design of an affordable bio/neurofeedback system that has BCI-capabilities (my software-project is called "brainBay" and does visual and audio-feedback for EEG and other biosignal data.)
The EEG-Amplifier I use is the open source project "modularEEG" which is featured by the openEEG community (http://openeeg.sf.net)

Basically, I want to try to evaluate the great results of the BCI2000-project with low-cost hardware like the modular EEG (2-6 channels, 10 bit resolution, 256 Hz sampling rate, 1uVpp-noise, DRL - circuit, rs232-interface, price for manufacturing ca. 250 USD)

After reading the design- and implementation- documents, I started to modify the code of the Random-Number EEG-Source to establish a connection to a selectable COM-Port and to parse the data coming from modularEEG in the process-function. The implementation was quite straight-forward. After some problems with the horizontal cursor-movement i read the forum-entries to fix the x-trend-control, mean and gain-settings and set up the RJB-task.
Unfortunately, my first results were only slightly above random (hopefully :roll: )

Do you think that it could be possible to get control over the cursor when using only 2 physical channels at C3 and C4 referenced to Cz ?
What setting would you recommend ?
Is trend-control essential and how is a good strategy to start with it ?

Currently I use AR-Signal Processing, 10 and 12 Hz bands in the MUD-matrix equally weighted, and no beta frequencies
How are your expieriences with the MUD in the RJB-task ?