Read from Datasets

This forum deals with BCI2000 configuration issues.
nadoona

Read from Datasets

Post by nadoona » 10 Aug 2007, 15:37

Hi,

I am new at BCI 2000. I was wondering if there is a way to use BCI 2000 while reading from datasets in order to see how it works. I have found some datasets online for P300 experiments, and they are supposed to be recorded using BCI 2000. They are available in 2 formats: ASCII and .MAT. However, I do not know how to configure BCI 2000 to read from these datasets instead of a source module.

Please advise.
Thanks.

gschalk

data read

Post by gschalk » 14 Aug 2007, 20:19

Nadoona,

I am new at BCI 2000. I was wondering if there is a way to use BCI 2000 while reading from datasets in order to see how it works. I have found some datasets online for P300 experiments, and they are supposed to be recorded using BCI 2000. They are available in 2 formats: ASCII and .MAT. However, I do not know how to configure BCI 2000 to read from these datasets instead of a source module.
If you are interested in trying out BCI2000 to see how it works, then you may simply use the P3Speller_RandomNumber batch file and associated parameter file.

If you are interested in loading recorded data and playing it through the system: This issue has been coming up every couple months for the past five years. While this could easily be done by, e.g., writing a source module that reads from a file, we have not done this, and that for at least two reasons:

1) If the version of BCI2000 that you are using is not the exact same as the one that was used to record the data, and/or you change some system parameters, then, depending on the experimental paradigm, results may be undefined. E.g., in a 2D cursor task, what should happen if you slow down the cursor such that the cursor has not yet reached a target when in the original data file it has (i.e., and the trial is over?).