SSVEP-Based BCI

Forum for discussion on different user applications
Zahra

SSVEP-Based BCI

Post by Zahra » 17 Apr 2015, 03:29

Hi all,

I am working on a BCI system in which the user navigates in a virtual world using four commands with four specific frequencies to evoke the SSVEP. I'm recording the EEG using Emotiv EPOC and my virtual world is built in the VrealmBuilder and I have to do the signal processing in MATLAB.

I need to know how to connect the virtual world to the BCI2000.

Thanks a lot.

boulay

Re: SSVEP-Based BCI

Post by boulay » 17 Apr 2015, 11:22

I've never used VRealmBuilder before but it seems to be Matlab-based?

If you're doing the signal processing and the application in Matlab, having you considered doing the signal acquisition from the EPOC in Matlab too? I've never done this and I can't help you with it but it seems more straightforward than including BCI2000.

Using BCI2000 has some advantages in that the Emotiv EPOC module is well-tested and the data format is rich, and has some tools already available for analysis. These are actually pretty big advantages.

You will have to use the Emotiv.exe, MatlabSignalProcessing.exe, and StimulusPresentation.exe

Please read their respective Wiki pages on how to use each.

You will have to configure BCI2000 to use AppConnector. See here: http://www.bci2000.org/wiki/index.php/T ... _Connector

And you will have to configure your VR application to read states and control signals from the specified UDP port. I've done this with an Unreal Engine application but I've never used VRealmBuilder.

Zahra

Post by Zahra » 18 Apr 2015, 12:51

Hi Boulay,

Thanks for the response.

Yes, VRealmBuilder is MATLAB-based.

Can you explain what you mean by doing the signal acquisition from the EPOC in MATLAB?

I can read the data recorded by Emotiv which is connected to BCI2000, in MATLAB, by converting .dat files to .mat