building with MinGW

Forum for software developers to discuss BCI2000 software development
brice rebsamen

building with MinGW

Post by brice rebsamen » 15 Sep 2010, 05:39

Hi

I've been struggling with that for several days already. I'd appreciate some help. I am quite new to developing under Windows!

I want to build BCI2000 v3.0. I don't have Microsoft Visual Studio. I spent hours downloading and installing the 30 days trial version of Borland C++ Builder (2010 I think), but it did not work for some reason. So I decided to go for MinGW.

I could not find the 3.X.X version. I got the 4.X.X version (mingw-get-inst-20100831.exe) and it took hours to install. However, BCI2000 complained about it, because gcc3.x.x is required to build the shipped QT version. Btw, it's confusing because MinGW v3 brings Gcc version 4.X ...

So I figured that I'd have to go with a standard dist of QT and GCC4. I got the QT sdk from Nokia/Trolltech. It gives the option to install MinGW as well, which is pretty neat.

With those installed, the path set, and a few minor fixes in the code, I managed to build BCI2000 in CodeBlocks.

However, when trying the test_executables.bat, it failed, complaining that it could not find MSVCP80.DLL and MSVCR80.DLL. Quite weird, because these are supposedly needed for apps built with visual studio (QT maybe?)...

Anyway, I found the DLLs (from my openoffice installation) and copied them in C:/Windows/System32. test_executables.bat could find the DLLs but then complained that some entry points could not be found in QtCore4.dll...

I proceeded to recompile QT from source with the MinGW compiler. It took hours but succeeded (although it required some deleting of some temp files, see http://lists.trolltech.com/pipermail/qt ... 13495.html)

Then I rebuilt BCI2000 and tested and got the same errors.

Now I am really out of ideas. Plus, as each step takes hours, I don't really feel like trying every possible idea that come to my mind.

Can anybody help please?