Modular Installation

Forum for software developers to discuss BCI2000 software development
rjavadi1

Modular Installation

Post by rjavadi1 » 22 Jul 2010, 11:29

Hello,

My name is Roxane; I am new to the BCI2000 program and hope to ultimately connect this software to Neuroscan (SynAmps 2 and Scan 4.3). However, I do not want to install BCI2000 on the computer that contains the Neuroscan software for fear of jeopardizing the SynAmps system. Fortunately, we currently have another computer that we use for stimulus presentation and have heard that it is possible to install the four BCI2000 modules seperately. If this is true, would it be possible to install the Source Module on the computer containing the Scan4.3 Software and the other modules on the second computer? Also, how would these modules comunicate? Currently, the stimulus presentation computer can "talk" to the Acquisition computer (through a serial port connection) but I assume we need the communication to go the other way as well. Will that be possible?

Thank you,
Roxane

mellinger

Post by mellinger » 23 Jul 2010, 08:32

Roxane,

you will need to connect the two computers via ethernet. Then, it is not necessary to install the BCI2000 source module on one, and the remaining modules on the other machine; you may install BCI2000 entirely on the stimulus presentation machine, and connect to the Scan 4.3 software on the first machine.

You will need to run BCI2000 with the Neuroscan source module. For this, you may either modify batch files in the BCI2000/batch directory, or use BCI2000Launcher to start up BCI2000.
To connect to the Scan 4.3 software, set the ServerAddress parameter to the IP address of the machine running Scan 4.3, followed with a colon and the port as specified from the Scan 4.3 software.

For more information, see
http://www.bci2000.org/wiki/index.php/C ... uroscanADC

Best regards,
Juergen

rjavadi1

Post by rjavadi1 » 29 Jul 2010, 13:18

Hello,