Supported Versions of NeuroScan Synamps?

Forum for software developers to discuss BCI2000 software development
Locked
trentb
Posts: 8
Joined: 27 Jan 2009, 10:25

Supported Versions of NeuroScan Synamps?

Post by trentb » 27 Jan 2009, 10:51

Are both the first generation (e.g., Model # 5083) and second generation (Synamps2) of Neuroscan Synamps supported by BCI2000?

Thanks,
Trent

gschalk
Posts: 615
Joined: 28 Jan 2003, 12:37

Neuroscan ...

Post by gschalk » 27 Jan 2009, 20:22

Trent,

BCI2000 does not interact with the amps directly, but interfaces with the Scan software. We know that BCI2000 works well with the Scan 4.3 software. Thus, any amp supported by Scan 4.3 should work with BCI2000.

Gerv

dyd1985
Posts: 23
Joined: 13 May 2010, 11:19

Synamps without software

Post by dyd1985 » 13 May 2010, 11:29

Hello everybody,
since this is my first post, I'd like to start saying thank you for the terrific work you do.

Here is my problem, I have recently got an old Neuroscan synamps acquisition system (8 channels). The lab which gave me this system doesn't have the acquisition software anymore... I wanted to use this device with BCI2000, but without the Neuroscan software it seems impossible isn't it?

Could I solve (or at least bypass) this problem using Neuroserver, that is a software tool to provide a standard EEG server that mediates between the raw EEG devices and all the various EEG applications that the user may wish to run to analyse the incoming EEG data. Data is transmitted using TCP/IP, which means that the EEG data can just as easily pass over a network (or even the internet) as stay on the same machine. Standard EDF is used for header information and for file storage.

Thank you very much for your time

Alessandro

griffin.milsap
Posts: 58
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 12:42

Post by griffin.milsap » 23 Jun 2010, 12:12

Alessandro,

I do not believe that BCI2000 supports the "NeuroServer" software. There is no source module built around "NeuroServer" as of yet. If you would like to do so yourself, that would probably be a worthwhile project.

I'm actually working with the Compumedics guys right now to develop a direct access Neuroscan module which doesn't require the Neuroscan software. It'll still require a USB security dongle, however. It is almost fully working and tested, and its available in the BCI2000 V3.0 branch. We're waiting on a few api bugs to be fixed before we declare the module finished and move on.

-Griff

dyd1985
Posts: 23
Joined: 13 May 2010, 11:19

Post by dyd1985 » 23 Jun 2010, 12:36

Thanks a lot Griff,

Right now I'm working using BioRadio150. But considering that my results don't seem to be really encouraging I'm planning to switch to another acquisition system (the synamps previously mentioned) as soon as possible.

Thanks a lot for your help and your work.

Alessandro

griffin.milsap
Posts: 58
Joined: 08 Jun 2009, 12:42

Post by griffin.milsap » 23 Jun 2010, 12:40

Alessandro,

The new Neuroscan module will only be compatible with Synamp2 (with or without wireless) models anyway. It's probably for the best that you switch to another acquisition system anyway.

Sorry for the late answer.

-Griff

dyd1985
Posts: 23
Joined: 13 May 2010, 11:19

Post by dyd1985 » 25 Jun 2010, 14:41

Hello,

I'm sorry for bothering you again.
In my Lab we have the mentioned hardware (synamps 8 channels model 5083). We got it from Medical School, and it would be great if I could use it to perform my BCI experiments.
Unfortunately as I already mentioned the guys at Medical School lost the Dongle (License Key) and now I have no idea on how to deal with this instrument. I know that you don't have any source module for this specific hardware, being really old, but I would appreciate if you could give me your valuable advice about this matter. Where should I start from, or how?

Thanks for your help
Alessandro Napoli

gschalk
Posts: 615
Joined: 28 Jan 2003, 12:37

Synamps ...

Post by gschalk » 25 Jun 2010, 14:54

Hi,

If Neuroscan's Scan software (>v4.3) supports this device, then it should be possible to use it with BCI2000. You will need a replacement dongle. This is clearly a question for Neuroscan tech support.

Gerv

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests